

reports Barbara Sharples International Choreographic Awards

I thoroughly enjoyed adjudicating at the Barbara Sharples 6th International Choreographic Awards at the Royal Northern College of Music on the 24th September in Manchester.

The event has grown over the last six years in both its size and standard, and we were treated to a feast of choreographic invention. Generously and humorously presided over by Jane Tumelty, the evening ranged from Michael Jackson to classical ballet - with just about everything in between! Dramatic contemporary pieces are a popular genre with the winner 'Children At War', choreographed by Emily Charlton, an outstanding and powerful example. More sinister and chilling, with wonderfully sharp edges, in second place was 'Robots' by Kirsty Wood and in third place, another dramatically engaging and poignant piece, 'Just A Game' by Amy Hall. All three of these choreographers also created second pieces of substantial merit. Aileen Coffey, Ashleigh Dalziel and Suzanne Jones were other choreographers whose high quality and diverse work deserves a mention. But in truth everyone is to be commended for their contribution to a wonderful evening celebrating and developing this fascinating art for in fact there wasn't one poor quality entry. While the judges - Barbara Sharples, Emma Clayton and myself - were reaching our decisions the audience were treated to a slick and professional cabaret by James Buckley (Finalist Dance Master UK 2016), Harriet Fisher (Winner Miss Dance 2016) and Abigail Tildesley (Tap Winner at IDTA Theatre Awards 2016). This competition is an inspired idea by Barbara Sharples and I am quite sure will continue to become an increasingly important and trailblazing fixture in the dance calendar.

Graeme Henderson



2nd Place: "Robots" choreographer Kirsty Wood



Winner: "Children at War" choreographer, Emily Charlton



3rd Place: "Just a Game" choreographer Amy Hall



L to R: Jane Tumelty Compere, Graeme Henderson Adjudicator, Emma Clayton Adjudicator, Emily Charlton, Winner, Dawn Parker President-Elect and Barbara Sharples Adjudicator.